Congratulations President Elect Obama

I can’t claim that the election went as I wanted last night, but I do recognize that is part of living in a Representative Democracy. No matter how I voted though it was a historic moment for our country yesterday. I want to take a second and congratulate Barack Obama and Joe Biden on winning the presidency/vice presidency. President Elect Obama ran a tremendous hard-fought campaign and it does make me proud that we were able to put aside some of the differences and biases that exist in our country to elect the first African-American President. I hope that this election will lead to true healing in our country and help us to move past the injustices of the past.  I have nothing but best wishes for our new President and I hope that he will lead us into a promising future built upon the principles that make this country great. Becca and I used this election last night as a teaching opportunity for our children. We said that when you vote you make your choice for the person you believe will best represent you, but when the election is decided you support the decision of the public, and stand behind the person that gets elected.

I also want to congratulate John McCain. While Senator McCain didn’t win, he did run a tremendous campaign himself and gave an outstanding concession speech last night. Senator McCain is still a hero in my book, and I thank him sincerely for his service to our country.

As we move forward it will be interesting to see how this election changes or impacts future elections. My friend Harry has an interesting take on how the next several years will go. I don’t agree with him as you might imagine, but I do think that he makes interesting points, and his prediction on this election was must closer than mine was. I also want to take a moment to congratulate him and my other friends who voted for the Democrats in this election. Yesterday was a tremendous victory for your party, and I wish you well as you move forward in leading the country. Hopefully you will learn the lessons the Republicans failed to grasp and realize that the country is not nearly as Red or Blue as people might have you believe.

This entry was posted in News and politics. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Congratulations President Elect Obama

  1. Julianne says:

    Dale – very well and simply stated. You contuinue to be a man worthy of respect and well written words. Had the election gone the other way, I would like to think I could be as magnanimous. I have great admiration for McCain and likely would have been able to stand behind him because, as you so rightly put it, that is part of the democratic process. I feel for him and his family and your party after this hard long fight – let the healing begin! Let us all work together! The next few years will be an even bigger battle as we confront more trials, the financial crisis, ending our War abroad in Iraq with dignity, in the safest way possible for all sides, etc. There are so many huge obstacles, this victory is hopefuly only the begining….that said, you continue to be a man whose words are well put and I appreciate your point of view and respect your thoughts. Keep writing – your voice is worthy to be heard.

  2. renay says:

    veery well written words

  3. Unknown says:

    Very well put, Dale!  I\’m proud of our country, and I hope we can now go back to being Americans first!  I remember taking you voting with me!
     
    🙂 Your biggest fan in California

Leave a comment