Afternoon Thoughts 19

  • Like most years my NCAA bracket is pretty toasted. I still have three of the teams I picked going to the Final Four though (UCLA, Florida, Ohio State) so I haven’t lost all hope yet.
  • Harry has a great post about SAAS and SOA. I couldn’t agree with him more. We really need another word for service as it is completely overused. Business perhaps? That way we could have Business Oriented Architecture (BOA). That way anyone against BOA would be a…BOA constrictor. Sorry, I just couldn’t resist.
  • I neglected to catch this one earlier, but there is a great post up on building software versus building it. One thing I would add relates to your corporate culture. Obviously at Microsoft the equation is slanted very much in one direction. 🙂
  • James Maguire asks if SOA has an ROI? That is an interesting question. As I’ve said before in order to work SOA must first and foremost meet the needs of the business. If it doesn’t then it will fail as it has in many cases so far.
  • Last, but not least today here is a video showing the perils of skiing. The announcer is hilarious and the scream makes me cringe. Maybe next time the skier will wear a cup.
This entry was posted in Morning Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment